WEEKEND ADVENTURE | Rock Climbing at Cantabaco

Rock climbing in cantabacoLast year, I was invited by a friend on their weekend adventure—Rock Climbing. Who in their right mind, would turn down an invitation like this? Definitely not me.

Rock climbing at cantabaco, cebuI’m not familiar with Rock climbing, but according to a friend, Cebu houses the best wall for rock climbing in the Philippines. This wall is located in Cantabaco, Cebu. I’m pretty sure most rock climbing enthusiasts are familiar with this.

Rock Climbing at Cantabaco, CebuWe had rock climbing 101 when we arrived in the area. They orient us about the basics of rock climbing, the gears, and the grades of the wall. Since we’re still newbie at this sport, they accompany us to a wall which is for beginners.

Rock Climbing in Cantabaco, CebuI was so proud of myself when I managed to reach the top, on my first climb. Even though I was ready to give up halfway through. It gives me a kind of “high” which I can’t explain. All I know is, I want to climb again and again.

Rock ClimbingWe climb 3 different routes that day. Because we enjoyed so much, we didn’t notice the time and miss our lunch. Although we could have eaten our lunch in the area, but no one ever considers bringing lunch packs. We had our late lunch though, on our way home.

Rock Climbing Itinerary

6:00AM – Assembly at South Bus Terminal
7:00AM – ETD for Lutopan
8:00AM – ETA Lutopan; proceed to Silangan
8:15AM – ROCK CLIMBING
12:00NN – Lunch
3:00PM – pack-up; Depart for Lutopan
3:30PM – ETD for Cebu City
4:30PM – Home sweet home

Expenses:

40Php – Mini bus South bus terminal-Lutopan
10Php – Habal-habal Lutopan-Silangan
10Php – Habal-habal Silangan-Lutopan
50Php – Lunch
70Php – V-hire Lutopan-Cebu City
180Php — TOTAL

***For guide, and gear rentals please contact Ian (09239777180).  As of 2014, the gear rental is Php600/pax. If you have other friends who love to come along with you, much better. The bigger the group, the cheaper the price.

9 thoughts on “WEEKEND ADVENTURE | Rock Climbing at Cantabaco

  1. me and my husband are planning to go to cantabaco to get some rock climbing done. do you have the number of you friend that we can contact?

  2. Hi there, planning to visit cantabaco in a few weeks. Would you be able to share the name and contact of your guide please? thanks

  3. Hello! I’m planning to go Cebu for some climbing. Could you tell me if the number you have provided (Ian), is a landline or mobile number? I’m thinking of sending a text instead of calling. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

